My Truths #15 (veggies)

by Stephanie

All vegetables are not created equal. Green leafy vegetables and those that grow above the soil are the ones you want to eat more of. Root vegetables are o.k. once in a while but they are a higher source of carbohydrates. I know this is crazy! First I’m down on fruit…now veggies? Let me be clear, if your choice is between some beets or a cupcake. Choose the beets! They may be higher in sugar than some other vegetables but they are also full of good stuff like vitamins, fibre and antioxidants. The cupcake not so much! My advice…if it’s fall, you’re at your goal weight and roots veggies are in abundance, enjoy to your hearts’ content. If you’re trying to lose weight, keep in mind that it’s no coincidence that these high carb veggies are ready in nature when it’s time to lay down a layer of fat to get through winter.