My Truths #174 (pastimes)

by Stephanie

Pastimes: “An activity that occupies one’s spare time pleasantly” ~ Source: Free on-line dictionary. I’ve mentioned before that I’m hooked on my computer. I work on it all day at the office and then I come home and “play” on it. It’s a little sad really. If I’m awake and not preparing meals, eating, cleaning or exercising then I’ve probably got the laptop open. Sometimes I even have it open when I’m eating but I try to avoid that.

I’ve been known to play games on my computer (mindless games like Yahtzee or thinking games like Scrabble or Boggle). I’m sure this is a healthy way to unwind after a stressful day but after 15 minutes or so I start to feel guilty about “wasting” time. Stress is bad for your health. Feeling guilty is just another form of stress.

I feel that blogging is a better use of my on-line time. It’s creative, it makes me think and it reinforces my beliefs and priorities but even blogging has lost a little of its shine for me. When I first started, I enjoyed picking the themes, colours, graphics and topics. I still enjoy writing and plan to continue but I’ve discovered a new “pastime” which involved the computer that I’m really excited about. Don’t worry… it’s not some “get rich” scheme. Stay tuned for an introduction soon to my “she rides” project.

play outside

