My Truths #165 (vision boards)

by Stephanie

Vision boards are more effective when you don’t over think it. I was invited to attend a session where everyone in the room created a “vision board”. I couldn’t make it but was intrigued by the concept. Basically it’s a poster board covered in words and photos that were ripped out of magazines. It may be tempting to go the cliché route and use photos of buff bodies, designer clothes, expensive cars and exotic travel destinations but is that really what you want?  I like the description below that I found on Oprah.com …sounds kinda primal doesn’t it?

“To really work, a vision board has to come not from your culture but from your primordial, nonsocial self—the genetically unique animal/angel that contains your innate preferences. When you start assembling pictures that appeal to this deep self, you unleash one of the most powerful forces on our planet: human imagination.” (link to source of quote below)

I decided to go with a virtual “vision board” using Pinterest. I have to confess that there are a couple of buff bodies on there… but there’s also some images and quotes that just spoke to me. The idea is not to post it on your fridge but instead to create it and then forget it and that somehow on a subconscious level your thoughts and actions are working to help you achieve your goals.

http://www.oprah.com/spirit/How-to-Make-a-Vision-Board-Find-Your-Life-Ambition-Martha-Beck/3

pinterest board

