My Truths #164 (bananas)

by Stephanie

For some reason I think bananas make you fat. Bananas are one of my favourite fruit. I love the taste!  They seem like such a treat to me that I always think of them as an indulgence plus I think someone at the gym once told me that bananas make you fat. I’ve read up on the subject and although they are one of the higher carb fruits, in moderation, they are still a very good choice as part of a varied primal diet. Bananas contain a good amount of antioxidants, minerals, and vitamins and are especially famous for their high potassium content. Potassium helps control heart rate and blood pressure and helps counter the bad effects of sodium.  Lesson here…don’t believe everything random people at the gym tell you.

I prefer them all yellow with no brown spots. I rarely buy them because they usually ripen faster than I can eat them and a soon as that first brown spots appears they don’t “appeal” to be anymore. I could let them ripen further and bake some primal banana bread but to be honest I tried that and it was a miserable failure. If I’m grocery shopping and I see the prefect banana I will buy it (just one) and eat it in the car on the way home from the store.

My daughter did teach me something this year about the banana ripening process. She studied it and experimented with it for her school science project. Did you know that if you separate your bananas from each other and store them in a cool place away from other fruit they will ripen much more slowly?

Image

