My Truths #148 (keep searching)

by Stephanie

Not every new idea works out. Yesterday I suggested that people who have not yet found a physical activity that makes them happy and inspires them be active should get out there and cultivate a passion. Just keep in mind that you might not like the first activity that you try. Don’t get discouraged…just get out there and try something else.

Last year I was approached by a group of women in my neighbourhood to try TRX. This is a workout where you are use straps that hang from the ceiling combined with your own body weight to create resistance and build muscle. I was motivated to support a women entrepreneur, be part of this group and try something new. I signed up for 8 weeks. I gave it a try but I didn’t like it. I like traditional weight lifting where you know exactly how much you are lifting.  I like numbers!

There are also times when you may not have a natural aptitude for a certain activity. I would love to be able to water ski. I’ve tried to do it several times but I just can’t seem to get the hang of it. Golf is another one… I’ve even taken lessons. My putting and pitching are pretty good but I can’t, for the life of me, master driving the ball off the tee. I have a lot of respect for people who work hard to master their sport but the truth is I might never try water skiing or golf again. You can’t be good at everything and I’m o.k. with that!

Image

