My Truths #145 (gaining muscle)

by Stephanie

When you adopt a new and/or more challenging workout routine you risk gaining weight. (This is particularly true if you’re fairly lean starting out.) One of the desired results of working out, for most people, is a positive change in overall body composition. By building more dense muscles and losing body fat your weight may actually increase, while your body fat percentage may decrease. The only way to really measure this is by getting your percentage body fat measured which, where I live, is not an easy thing to do with any degree of accuracy. Some of the most common ways to measure body fat are: skin fold caliper, bioelectric impedance analysis, anthropometric, hydrostatic weighing, DEXA Scan.  Curious about what these are? Check them out here 

I don’t have easy access to any good body fat measuring techniques so I’m stuck with my scale. I’ll admit that I’m guilty of the frequent weight-in and beating myself up when the scale goes up but when I look in the mirror I can see that my body is lean and I’m getting more definition in my muscles. Why does that number on the scale matter to me so much?  My husband keep reminding me that it’s just a number and that I’m obviously getting more fit and that’s what matters. He’s right but to hear him say it does make me feel better!

Image

