My Truths #142 (Italian)

by Stephanie

Italian food is not just pasta. I am a commercial real estate agent and I recently helped a chef lease a great restaurant space. He’s opening an “authentic” Italian eatery and, since he’s a client, I’m somewhat obligated to check out the new restaurant which is opening this weekend. I know… poor me…right?

This chef has been creating a nice buzz in social media about his new establishment and asked for some suggestion of what people wanted to see on the menu. I understand that he’s going to have some heavy carb dishes… pastas and risottos (not to mention the bread!). I chimed in to the discussion with a plea for some lower carb options as well… antipasti, frittata, meatballs (proceed with caution can be full of bread crumbs), “creative soup” (since it’s the name of the heritage building that they’re in) and, of course…salads (caprese being one of the classics!). The chef responded with a big thumbs up to all my suggestions and mentioned that he was also going to be featuring “Osso Buco !! and yes..with veal..!!”

Image

Ossobuco (pronounced [ˌɔsːoˈbuːko]) is Italian for “bone with a hole” (osso bone, buco hole), a reference to the marrow hole at the center of the cross-cut veal shank. The veal is braised with vegetables, white wine and broth… I’m drooling!

