My Truths #135 (environmental allergies)

by Stephanie

I’m allergic to several things including dust mites, mold and pet dander. When I’m exposed to these things I get red, itchy eyes often accompanied by an asthma attack. I can control it with allergy & asthma medication but prefer not to take these unneccessarily. We have very little carpeting or upholstered furniture in our home which helps keep the allergens down. Surprisingly I don’t have hay fever so pollen doesn’t seem to bother me much. Although it sounds strange I’m also “allergic” to exercise which can cause my asthma to flare up. Exercising outdoors in the cold is the worst. Exercise induced asthma is not uncommon.

I had a service come in recently to clean one of our sofas. The stuff she took out of that old couch was pretty disgusting. She told me that our mattresses could also benefit from the same cleaning. She said that a new mattress will double its weight in 10 years from dead skin cells, dust, dust mites and their droppings.  I was skeptical of her claim so did a little research and found this article. http://www.lifeslittlemysteries.com/1179-does-your-mattress-really-gain-weight-over-time-.html

Regardless of the true weight of all that extra matter in my mattress it’s still pretty gross!

Image

