My Truths #132 (Brazil nuts)

by Stephanie

One Brazil nut per day will satisfy your selenium requirements. I mentioned a few days ago that mustard seeds are a good source of selenium. Selenium is a mineral found in the soil. It naturally appears in water and some foods. While people only need a very small amount dietary selenium, it does play a key role in metabolism. It also has antioxidant properties which protect cells from damage.

Whole foods are the best sources of selenium as the mineral can be destroyed during processing. Brazil nuts are by far the richest source of selenium available and one Brazil nut per day is all that is required to meet your needs. In the past I have purchased whole shelled organic Brazil nuts at a local health food store and had been eating one with breakfast every morning. I’ve fallen out of that habit recently. Metabolism is an important factor in weight maintenance. If selenium has a role to play in metabolism then I think it’s worth picking up another package soon. Besides… I love the rich taste! Just be careful not to over indulge as they are high in carbs and calories.

Image

