My Truths #125 (multivitamins)

by Stephanie

Mutivitamins, for the most part, are a waste of money.

In the words of Sheldon Cooper:

Sheldon: Well, there’s some value to taking a multivitamin but the human body can only absorb so much. What you’re buying here are the ingredients for very expensive urine.

Penny: (sarcastically) Well, maybe that’s what I was going for.

Sheldon: (trying to be helpful) Well then you’ll want some manganese.

I’ve always been of the mindset that if you are eating a varied diet including real food (and especially those functional or “superfoods”) that you don’t need to take supplements. Vitamins and minerals don’t work in isolation and often the combination of nutrients found in real food has synergistic properties that make the absorption superior. The one exception to this rule that I’m aware of is prenatal vitamins. I can’t comment on the other vitamins and mineral contained in these preparations but the folic acid in maternal vitamins have been proven to help prevent neural tube defects. These defects are serious abnormalities of the brain and spinal cord.

I have a lot of respect for Mark Sisson and I know that he has gotten some flack for selling supplements  on his website Mark’s Daily Apple. If you are in the market for supplements (including fish oil) I think you can be assured that his would be of the highest quality.

Image

