My Truths #122 (paleo potluck)

by Stephanie

A potluck supper is a great way to discover new recipes. I’ve read on-line about groups of Primalists or “Paleoites” (what do you call someone who follows the paleo diet?) who would gather at restaurants to break bread (pun intended) or get together for pot luck suppers. Mark Sisson even had a contest a while back….

“On September 11th I asked Mark’s Daily apple readers to host a Grokfeast (a picnic/party celebrating the Primal lifestyle) and to send me the results.”

He got 14 submissions. I read about each one, looked at their photos, watched their videos and was jealous!

I’ve been primal for almost 2 years and had not met one other person in my community who follows an ancestral diet. The key word here is community. Now I realize, until recently, I was not part of the right “community”. As you know I’m giving crossfit a try and low and behold it came with an invitation.

“Come get your Irish on at Fundy CrossFit’s St. Paddy’s Day Potluck!

Join the FCF crew for some drinks and hijinks March 16th. We are planning an evening a potluck/bring your own refreshments with a St. Paddy’s theme. {…}. As CrossFitters, we do promote a Paleo diet but it is not required. If you would like more information about Paleo recipes check out paleotable.com or paleomg.com. This invitation is open to all members and their spouses/friends.”

The event was last night and although there were a few non-paleo items on the table I was impressed! Here’s just a sample of some of the dishes that we feasted on: Moroccan chicken soup, ribs, chicken wings, steak with veggies, bean-less chili with sweet potatoes (delish!), chicken with cauliflower “rice”, pork with apple chutney, pork stuffed jalapenos, crab stuffed mushrooms, bacon wrapped asparagus and grain-less walnut squares (sweetened with dates). It was amazing…can’t wait to do it again!

pot luck cartoon

