My Truths #117 (sprouting)

by Stephanie

Sprouting is a fun way to get your greens.  Last winter I helped my daughter grow wheat grass for her science project which opened a whole world of “sprouting” to me that I had previously known nothing about. Although the wheat grass grew vigorously and looked lovely I was not really inclined to try eating it. I’m not in to juicing or smoothies and I think the word wheat threw me off as well.  I decide to try my hand at broccoli sprouts.

You can buy all kind fancy and expensive sprouting equipment but I did it on the cheap. My supplies: a small bag of organic broccoli seeds (specific for sprouting) which included a small square piece of mesh and an elastic. I also purchased a large wide mouthed juice jug with a handle at the Dollar store.  You start by soaking the seeds in water overnight in the container fitted with the mesh and elastic over the opening. In the morning drain the water through the mesh. Leave the container upside down slanted a bit so that air can still circulate (I propped mine up in the dish drainer in my sink). This allows any excess moisture to drain out and air to get in. Continue to rinse and drain in this manner twice a day until the sprouts are ready to eat. You can find many great tutorials on-line which give step by step instructions.

According to my initial research I was led to believe that they were much more nutritious than full grown broccoli. On further investigation I’ve discovered that this is not actually correct. According to Wikipedia “Broccoli sprouts actually have lower nutritional values than full sized broccoli according to the USDA. Many studies compare the nutritional value of dry, dormant seeds to sprouts to obtain an exaggerated positive result for sprouts. However, the sprouts are not typically consumed for their nutrient content; they are consumed for their content of bioactive molecules with potent nutrigenomic potential.” Regardless, they are a lovely addition to a salad and a fun little hobby.

Image

