My Truths #116 (hot & spicy)

by Stephanie

There are other benefits to eating hot & spicy foods beyond banishing boredom.  I love spicy food such as suicide wings, spicy thai curry (the kind that makes your nose run!) and stuffed jalapenos peppers.  I sprinkle crushed chilies in my eggs and ask for extra Sriracha on my souvlaki salad at lunch time. 

Come to find out that eating hot food is not only tasty it could have health benefits. Studies show that the main compound in chilies, called capsaicin, has a thermogenic effect and may cause the body to burn bonus calories for up to 20 minutes after you eat. I’m sure it’s a very small amount but if you eat hot food frequently maybe it could make a difference. Who knows? Some of the other health benefits are: heart health, cancer prevention, lower blood pressure and mood regulation. To read more about these other potential health benefits check out the following link:

http://www.self.com/blogs/flash/2010/09/5-healthy-benefits-of-eating-s.html

Image

