My Truths #106 (Crossfit)

by Stephanie

It’s going to take some time to “adjust” to crossfit.  It’s been 1 month since I joined and I’m still questioning if it’s right for me. In the beginning they really focus on technique with lighter weights so the strength part of my workouts so far seems too easy. (I’m sure I’ll be regretting I said that in a few weeks’ time!) I like the idea of the variety. Every time you go it’s different workout and there’s an element of competition which is always fun.

The part I’m finding the most difficult has nothing to do with the workout…it’s the logistics. At my old gym I just showed up when I felt like it but with crossfit it’s not that easy.

  • The class times don’t suit my schedule very well. I’m lucky that I have a very flexible work day and I used to workout during business hours. The people who run this crossfit gym have day jobs so, at this point, they only offer classes early morning, evenings and Saturdays.  It’s a brand new gym so hopefully more options will come with time.
  • You have to sign up on-line for the classes and you can only do that within a 48 hour window of the class you want to attend and the window closes 6 hours before the class start.  It’s just one more thing that I have to think about. I’m all about simplifying my life not complicating it.
  • You can’t just blow off a class. If you sign up for a class you better show up because you are potentially taking a spot away from someone else. So if you registered for the 6 a.m. class and your alarm goes off at 5:30… you can’t change your mind and go back to sleep. For people who need some external motivation to work out, I can see this as an advantage.

So my overall experience so far has been so-so. I find it’s complicating my life so a little stressful STRESS=BAD. I’m going to give it 1 more month and see how I adjust. Watch for another update on April 1st.

Image

