My Truths #94 (raw veggies)

by Stephanie

I’m not a huge fan of raw veggies. There I said it. To make matters worse I find many raw veggies difficult to digest. If I eat raw cauliflower or green pepper it repeats on me for the rest of the day!  Sure, I’ll eat the occasional crudité if it’s served with the right dip (NOTE: those dips, unless you know the source, can be laced with a lot of crap). I also enjoy a salad almost every day. Thankfully the delicate greens that make up the bulk of my salads don’t give me any trouble.

I was watching a youtube video recently on the nutrient density of food and kale was off the charts. It really is a “superfood” even when cooked but to get the most nutritional benefit you must eat it raw. I had some nice organic kale in my fridge and I still couldn’t bring myself to eat some raw. I can sense, just by looking at it, that it won’t agree with me. Instead, I tossed it with some good quality olive oil, a little fresh ground pepper and a dash of sea salt and slow roasted it in the oven until it was just crispy. OMG! Cooked veggies and fat…now there’s a combination that I can get behind. Some of my other favourite combinations include:

  1. Brussels sprouts roasted in bacon grease
  2. Green beans (blanched) then tossed in a skillet with sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds
  3. The classic…mushrooms sautéed in butter
  4. Cabbage stir fried with coconut oil and caraway seeds. (I may have mentioned this one before but it bears repeating!)

Image

