My Truths #82 (challenge of fasting)

by Stephanie

The challenge of fasting is more psychological than physical.   I’ve never fasted for more than 19 hours…that’s pretty much my limit. I can go from 6 p.m. until around 1 p.m. the next day without eating but when lunch time roles around it starts to become a mind game. This type of fasting is known as the “condensed eating window”.  I’m not usually even that hungry but around noon I start asking myself questions like: Why am I doing this? Is it really healthy to skip meals? (that’s conventional wisdom talking). Am I sending the wrong signals to my body i.e. going in to starvation mode? (again conventional wisdom talking).  I’m not trying to lose weight but I know, from the reading I’ve done, that intermittent fasting has other physical benefits and that restricting calories has been associated with longevity. The truth is that anything longer than 19 hours is too stressful for me. Stress is not primal!

NOTE: I believe that the book EAT STOP EAT by Brad Pilon promotes Intermittent Fasting as a weight loss method. I’ve been meaning to read it…

Image

