My Truths #77 (weight discrimination)

by Stephanie

Weight discrimination is real. The truth is the majority of people judge others based on first impressions and appearances. If a person is of “normal” weight, well dressed, attractive life is probably easier. It may not be fair but it is human nature to make assumptions about others based on what we see on the exterior. If someone is overweight, others might assume they are lazy or lack discipline but there’s usually more to the story than meets the eye.  When I see people who are overweight I feel so sorry for them. I’m not taking pleasantly plump… a few curves in the right places can be very sexy! I’m taking about people who are so overweight that it is severely impacting their quality of life from a health and mobility stand point.  These people are often marginalized and discriminated against. I find it very sad.

Image

