My Truths #63 (new heights)

by Stephanie

Reaching new heights will make you feel like you’re on top of the world! I have friends who have completed marathons and triathlons. That doesn’t really appeal to me but I understand why they do it. It gives them the mental edge to train hard and when they cross the finish line they have an amazing sense of accomplishment. They are raising the bar on what they can do physically and mentally!

When my husband and I first started dating he took me to climb a mountain in Maine. The highest peak in Maine to be exact. I didn’t know it at the time but it was a test! I was fairly fit and outdoorsy but in order to complete a hike like that, and enjoy it, you need to be both physically strong and mentally strong. Thankfully I passed with flying colours and we have since climbed Katahdin several times together. I look forward to doing it again this fall and I know when I’m sitting in the Roaring Brook parking lot at the end of the day enjoying that cold beer (part of my 80/20… see My Truth #12) that I will experience that sense of awe at what my mind and body are capable of!

Image

