My Truths #54 (motivation)

by Stephanie

The motivation to exercise can come from within but it can also come from others. I like certain kinds of exercise and when I have these activities planned in to my schedule it takes less motivation to do them. For example, when I was a child I loved swimming but now, as an adult, the thought of jumping in to a cold pool makes me cringe. The truth is I know that after that initial chock of plunging in to the cold water I would enjoy it and I would feel great afterwards but the idea of getting in the pool would be the excuse I use to not go swimming.

I go to Les Mills BodyPumpTM a minimum of once a week. I have not missed in 3 years. My reasons are mostly internal:

  • I have fun at the class
  • It’s not a huge commitment of time so very manageable.
  • I have seen great results.

On the other hand I do a lot of cycling and the motivation to do that activity is derived, for the most part, from an external source. Cycling is a sport that I do almost exclusively with my husband. My reasons are:

  • We encourage each other. Some days I’m feeling lazy and other days he is but we get each other out there.
  • It’s good for the heart. The cardio strengthens our heart muscle. We want to be strong and healthy and here for each other for years to come.
  • It’s good for the heart (in a different way). It’s quality time together and strengthens our relationship.

The bottom line is that if your motivation to exercise involved counting calories and guilt I don’t believe it’s sustainable… find positive reasons to get fit and you are more likely to stick with it.

Image

