My Truths #50 (herbs)

by Stephanie

Fresh herbs are a great source of antioxidants (all this cold & snow has me dreaming of my herb garden). Having an herb garden is a great way to incorporate antioxidants in to your diet. I’ve always loved the idea of having an herb garden but for the most part I thought of them as decorative and enjoyed their fragrances. Until recently, I wasn’t familiar with cooking with fresh herbs. My experience with herbs was limited to the dried herbs that come from the grocery store in little bottles. This summer I hosted a plant swap at my house where I was lucky enough to get a few herb plants and I also purchased a couple of small plants from the local garden centre. I establish a pretty little herb garden outside near my kitchen.  Then I started watching for recipes that incorporated fresh herbs and did some experimenting. The following combinations are some of my favourites:

  • Roasted potatoes with olive oil and ROSEMARY
  • Caprese Salad (tomato, mozzarella, BASIL, olive oil and balsamic vinegar)
  • Fried eggs with SAGE
  • Orange Bourbon Salmon with CHIVES.

Do you have any favourites uses for fresh herbs that you would like to share?

Image

