My Truths #49 (resolutions)

by Stephanie

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions! It’s Jan 2nd…technically it would have made more sense to write this post yesterday but I was still in vacation mode and feeling lazy! Lazy is not a word that most would use when talking about resolutions. They might use words like energized, empowered, enthusiastic, hopeful. The ironic thing is that I’m not a lazy person by nature. I’d like to think that people would use those positive words to describe me throughout the year.

The truth is I don’t believe that I’ve ever made a New Year’s resolution. I know I’ve never sat down on January 1st and written down an official list. That’s not to say that I don’t reflect on the year that’s gone by and take stock of my accomplishments. When I reflect back I usually feel that I did my best given the circumstances. I also look ahead. I have a mental list of the behaviours that I would like to cultivate in myself and things that I would like to accomplish but I don’t call them resolutions… I call them goals!

Image

