My Truths #47 (kefir)

by Stephanie

Homemade Kefir  (Pronounced “Keh-Fear”) is an easy and inexpensive way to get probiotics in to your diet. Kefir is a probiotic, fermented milk product, like yogurt but with far more probiotics (as many as 30 different microflora). Kefir is a bit runnier than yogurt, making it more of a drink. It has a slightly different taste than yogurt- more tangy and yeasty.

I purchased some healthy live kefir grains from a person I found on kijiji (similar to craigslist). I’ve made countless batches both with raw organic goat’s milk and using store bought whole pasteurized cow’s milk. It’s very simple! I’ll admit I prefer the taste of the cow’s milk kefir but will make it with goat’s milk when I can get it to avoid the hormones/chemicals and to get the raw milk benefits along with the probiotics.

Liberté is a brand of kefir sold in stores in my area. According to the Liberté website “A single tablespoon (15 ml) a day yields 5 billion beneficial bacteria” so you don’t need to consume a lot of it to reap the benefits. I drink a shot glass or two of my homemade kefir every morning with my breakfast.

Image

example of kefir grains

