My Truths #39 (water)

by Stephanie

Obey your thirst. Have you seen these people who lug around a jug of water everywhere they go? Sipping, sipping constantly sipping at this life giving elixir? Somehow they believe that this is going to a) prevent them from getting hungry 2) help them lose weight. I think its hogwash!

At a minimum I enjoy a cup of coffee or two every morning, 1-2 cups of herbal tea per day and, on rare occasion, a glass of red wine with dinner. Of course, if I am physically active or in very hot weather, I make sure I have access to water if I need it. Otherwise…when I’m thirsty… I hydrate. I also eat a lot of vegetables which are, in large part, made of water which I think many people overlook as an important source of hydration.  Some people say that if you wait until you’re thirsty that your body is already mildly dehydrated. This may be true but I still don’t see any major danger in it. I’ve done some research and I’ve yet to read any compelling reason for drinking 8+ glasses of water per day. Besides, nothing is quite as satisfying as a nice, cold, refreshing glass of water when you’re really thirsty. I don’t want to be a slave to the water bottle or to the ladies room!

Image

