My Truths #38 (Ketostix)

by Stephanie

Ketostix are a great tool for helping kick things up a notch! Eating a low carb diet is a great way to get your body to shed unwanted fat. Usually the range “primalists” strive for is under 150 grams of carbohydrates per day. But by keeping your carb intake less than 30 grams per day your body will go in to ketosis which means it’s using stored fat as its main source of fuel (rather than glucose which is would normally call on). You don’t have to be in ketosis to burn fat but if you’ve reach a plateau or just want to kick your fat burning up a notch try getting in to ketosis.

Ketostix are urine test strips that you can pick up at any pharmacy. They’ll indicate if you’ve restricted your carbs enough by the evidence of ketones in your urine. In my experience it’s pretty tough to do without being very strict. I’m playing around with it this week I’ll let you know how I make out… NOTE: I’ve read that being in ketosis can also give you bad breath. NOTED!

Image

