My Truths #29 (patience)

by Stephanie

Reaching your ideal body composition is a marathon not a 100 metre dash. We’re all guilty of it… wanting to lose 5 pounds in 2 weeks for some upcoming special occasion/reunion/event. Although this is technically doable we all know this is not the long term solution to achieving the body you’ve always dreamed of. Short term goals certainly have a place in helping stay motivated but to see real and sustainable transformation we must think differently, act differently and eat differently for the rest of our lives!

If your current regime leaves you feeling hungry, deprived and miserable it’s not sustainable. Your best eating plan is the one that keeps your hunger at bay, your cravings controlled, and provides you with a regimen that isn’t merely one you can tolerate, but one you can honestly enjoy. This is a way of eating that is sustainable for a lifetime. It took me 18 months to reach my goal weight and know that I can maintain it. Now that I’ve reached my goal I’m not going back to the way I used to eat just to undo all that I’ve accomplished. I’m hooked on feeling great and looking great and I’ll never go back!

finish line

