My Truths #28 (BHAG)

by Stephanie

Setting a BHAG (pronounced BEE-hag) a.k.a. a “Big Hairy Audacious Goal” can be very motivating. My husband and I enjoy cycling together. Last summer our cycling took a back seat to cancer. My husband was diagnosed with Leukemia. After 6 months of hospitalization, several rounds of chemo and a stem cell transplant he’s back in the saddle. This summer our goal was to cycle 2000 km (1242 miles). This was our most aggressive goal ever and the fact that it was following his illness made it that much more “audacious”.  A few weeks ago we reached that goal and his doctors were truly amazed that he had the energy and stamina to accomplish this. Having this goal to strive for and tracking our progress towards it got us out there on our bikes on many occasions when we might have otherwise sat on the couch, watched a rerun of Seinfeld and complained that “these pretzels are making me thirsty!”

Image

