My Truths #13 (IF’ing)

by Stephanie

If you’re not hungry…don’t eat! If you eat a high carb diet your body converts those carbs in to glucose which fuels your activities. This is what members of the primal community call being a “sugar burner” but if you follow a low carb diet your body switches to using stored fat to fuel your activities which is called being “fat adapted” or being a “fat burner”. If you’re a sugar burner you probably eat 3 meals a day and snack in between because you’re hungry and craving your next sugar rush. In my experience, if you’re fat adapted, you will rarely be hungry between meals and there will come a day when you just aren’t hungry when meal time comes around. Go with it. Skip a meal. This is called “Intermittent Fasting” or IF. This is a great technique for kicking your fat burning up a notch. Conventional wisdom says you shouldn’t skip meals because your body will go in to “starvation mode”… this is only if you are following a low calorie diet AND skipping meals. When you’re IF’ing, when it does come time to eat again, it is recommended to have a high calorie meal full of good quality protein and good quality fat. Yum!

There are different ways of IF’ing. Some people can go 24 hours without eating. I’ve never tried it and not sure I’m up to the challenge. The way I IF is called the “condensed eating window” i.e. I only eat from between 1 p.m. and 6 p.m. that day.

A NOTE FOR WOMEN: IF’ing for women is not quite as simple as for men. I would not recommend IF’ing if you’re pregnant or trying to get pregnant. Also, listen to your body. I find that the week before my period I’m thinking about eating constantly but the day my period hits my appetite wanes… a great time to try IF’in by skipping a meal or two.

Image

